Credit Valley-Toronto and Region-Central Lake Ontario (CTC) Source Protection Plan (SPP) is approved

 On August 14, 2015, Ontario approved the Credit Valley-Toronto and Region-Central Lake Ontario (CTC) Source Protection Plan (SPP) under the Clean Water Act, 2006. The plans is designed to safeguard drinking water sources and supplies in the region from current and future threats, and will take effect on December 31, 2015. To date, Ontario has approved 18 SPPs from areas across the province and expects to approve the remaining plans by the end of the year.

 The CTC Source Protection Region contains 25 large and small watersheds and spans over 10,000 km2, stretching from the Oak Ridges Moraine in the north to Lake Ontario in the south. The region contains portions of the Niagara Escarpment, the Oak Ridges Moraine, the Greenbelt and Lake Ontario, and represents the most densely populated region of Canada. It includes: 25 local municipalities and seven regional or county municipalities; 66 municipal supply wells; and 16 municipal surface water intakes on Lake Ontario. The CTC Source Protection Plan includes groundwater quality policies, groundwater quantity policies and Lake Ontario policies.

The CTC) Source Protection Plan includes specific policies which are, by definition, specific to Orangeville’s water quantity threats and these will be taken into considerations through any future application for a Permit To Take Water by the applicant for the Melville Pit.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply